SYSC Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems: Activities in 2018

Professor Shiyan Hu
Chair, IEEE SYSC Technical Committee on CPS

TC Membership Growth

- The membership page is at http://www.ieee-cps.org/member.html
- In 2017, there were only 40+ members.
- We now have more than 60+ members-at-large (from all of the world such as US, Canada, Germany, UK, Switzerland, Italy, Sweden, Denmark, France, Belgium, Turkey, Australia, China, Japan, etc), and the number of total members (see http://www.ieee-cps.org/list.html) reaches 120+. We are 3X bigger now.
- 30+ IEEE Fellows
- About 15 current or former Editors-in-Chief of IEEE/ACM Transactions in different fields
- Our members span different societies and councils within IEEE such as Systems Council, Industrial Electronics Society, Computer Society, CEDA, Power and Engineering Society, SMC, Control Systems Society, etc.

Journal/Conference Activities in 2018

- Organized special Issue on Design Automation for Cyber-Physical Systems in Proceedings of the IEEE, published in September 2018, where all of the four guest editors Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli, Shiyan Hu, Xin Li, and Qi Zhu are TC members (or advisory board member).
- Organized DAC Workshop on Design Automation for Cyber-Physical Systems (DACPS), 2018, chaired by Qi Zhu. DACPS workshop was founded by the TC since 2016 and 2019 DACPS chair is Mohammad Al Faruque.
- IEEE RTCSA 2018, financial co-sponsor.
- Heavily involved in IEEE ICPS 2017 and 2018.

Outreach

- General impact: the TC is becoming very popular in the broader CPS academic community. The
 visit to our TCCPS website since 2017 reaches 35,458 (as of March 17, 2019). The counter is
 shown in the main page of the TC at http://www.ieee-cps.org/index.html, maintained by Bei Yu, our
 web chair and newsletter editor.
- We are establishing the close collaboration with IEEE IES Technical Committee on Industrial Cyber-Physical Systems chaired by Prof. Armando Walter Colombo (our TC member-at-large), esp. in the initiatives of Cyber-Physical-Systems-of-Systems.
- For outreach to CPS-IoT Week, the TC conference chair Qi Zhu is the program chair for First Workshop on Design Automation for CPS and IoT (DESTION) 2019 at CPS-IoT Week. The general chairs are Alberto Sangiovanni-Vincentelli and Janos Sztipanovits, and a few TC members are in the TPC including Xin Li, Rolf Dresler, Shiyan Hu, Miroslav Pajic, etc.
- We are strengthening the collaboration with IET where Shiyan Hu is Editor-in-Chief of IET CPS: Theory & Application and a number of TC members are AEs. We are thinking of the possibility to establish IEEE/IET joint conferences.
- We are strengthening the collaboration with ACM Transactions on CPS. Its Editor-in-Chief is Kei-Wei Kuo, who is one of the five executive committee members of our TC.

Task Force

- Through our collaboration with IEEE power and engineering society (PES), we have established a task force (i.e., a working group) under the umbrella of TCCPS, called Smart Distribution and Utility Task Force. See http://www.ieee-cps.org/task-force-sdu.html. This group of people have already published a white paper titled "The Active Control Theory of Safe Operation for Self-healing Power Distribution Networks" and they plan to actively perform more activities (e.g., organizing task force level workshops) in 2019.
- We are discussing with a couple of groups of experts to establish more task forces.

CPS Newsletter

 http://www.ieee-cps.org/letter.html. The newsletter is published twice a year since 2016. The former Editors-in-Chief are Xin Li and Helen Li. Its new Editor-in-Chief is Bei Yu.

Editor



Bei Yu Computer Science and Engineering Chinese University of Hong Kong Hong Kong

Email: byu@cse.cuhk.edu.hk

Associate Editors



Long Chen School of Data and Computer Science Sun Yat-Sen University China

Email: chenl46@mail.sysu.edu.cn



Wuling Huang
Institute of Automation
Chinese Academy of Science
China
Email: wuling.huang@ia.ac.cn

Email: cneni46@mail.sysu.edu.cn



Yier Jin
Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Florida
USA

Email: yier.jin@ece.ufl.edu



Abhishek Murthy Philips Lighting Research North America Cambridge, MA USA

Email: abhishek.murthy@philips.com



Rajiv Ranjan School of Computing Science Newcastle University United Kingdom

Email: rajiv.ranjan@csiro.au



Muhammad Shafique
Department of Computer Engineering
Vienna University of Technology
Austria

Email: mshafique@ecs.tuwien.ac.at



Yiyu Shi Computer Science and Engineering University of Notre Dame USA

Email: yshi4@nd.edu



Ming-Chang Yang
Computer Science and Engineering
Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong

Email: mcyang@cse.cuhk.edu.hk

Thanks