IEEE System Council Logo

Shiyan Hu

First Name: 
Last Name: 
Contact Information

Shiyan Hu

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Michigan Technological University


Shiyan Hu received his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from Texas A&M University. He is an AssociateProfessor at Michigan Tech. where he is Director of Center for Cyber-Physical Systems and AssociateDirector of Institute of Computer and Cybersystems. He has been a Visiting Professor at IBM Research (Austin) in 2010, and a Visiting Associate Professor at Stanford University from 2015 to 2016. His research interests include Cyber-Physical Systems, Cybersecurity, Computer-Aided Design of VLSICircuits, and Embedded Systems, where he has published more than 100 refereed papers with manyappeared in IEEE Transactions.

Dr. Hu is an ACM Distinguished Speaker, a recipient of National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER
Award, an invited participant for U.S. National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering
Symposium, a recipient of ACM SIGDA Richard Newton DAC Scholarship (as the faculty advisor), and a recipient of JSPS Faculty Invitation Fellowship. His research was featured in the Front Cover of IEEETransactions on Nanobioscience in March 2014 and highlighted in various public media such as IEEESpectrum and Communications of ACM. His ultra fast slew buffering technique has been widely deployed in industry for designing over 50 microprocessor and ASIC chips such as IBM flagship chips POWER 7and 8.

Dr. Hu is the Chair for IEEE Systems Council Technical Committee on Security and Privacy in ComplexSystems, and for IEEE Technical Committee on Cyber-Physical Systems. He is an Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics, and IEEETransactions on Circuits and Systems. He is also a Guest Editor for 7 IEEE/ACM Transactions such asIEEE Transactions on Computers and IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design. He has served as conference chairs, track chairs and TPC members for more than 70 times. He is a Fellow of IET (formerly known as IEE) and a Senior Member of IEEE.

Distinguished Lecturer